top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAndrea

Sealants: The Good, The Bad, and The Ugly

The sequel to my Primers: The Good, The Bad, and The Ugly. I had been wanting to publish this for a while but never got around to it. This is all about sealants for your model horses. I just want to reiterate that I have not used every sealant and am basing my findings on what I have used and is available to me. I am located in Ontario, Canada and my preference in sealants is reflective of my areas climate and humidity.


#6 Mod Podge

A childhood favourite and safe for even the youngest customizer, Mod Podge is water based, non toxic, easy to find, inexpensive, and terrible if you want to get into serious customizing. You mostly see this product as a thick glue-like paste, but you can buy the aerosol spray version. It's good for crafting and props, but in the ling run it is not durable and will chip over time. Leaves heavy brushstrokes and tends to dry on the glossy side. Do not use with dusts or it will smear. This would usually go in the varnish section, but I see so many people use it I thought I would put it here.


#5 Low Odour Clear Krylon Matte

I think everyone stumbles upon this sealant at some point in their customizing career. A lot of the time if someone likes this sealant, they got lucky with a good can, but soon the happiness fades when you buy a new one. This sealant is finicky and likes to frost. The formula seems to change can by can and you cannot be promised a safe can each time. The product sprays thick and hides detail. Low odour it says but still stinks. The can mechanics themselves are questionable, spitting sealant everywhere. Does come in a variety of finishes: matte, crystal, satin, and gloss. Tends to yellow over time.


#4 Windsor and Newton Professional Dammar Varnish

Varnish in a can! This sealant is Windsor and Newtons sprayable version of their usual paintable varnish specifically for oil paints. Can you use this on dusts? I don't know and haven't tried. I have heard raving reviews of hobbyists using this product for their oil finish work, so it may only be formulated towards that. It's also used for sealing paper prints and ink works. Comes in matte, gloss, and high gloss. I cannot comment at this time on how durable it is for tacking up performance horses. It's being ranked lower only because it's an unknown.


#3 Rustoleum Painters Touch 2X Ultra Cover Matte Sealant

Not to be confused with the primer by the same name, Rustoleum has a sealant that compliments the primer and does a similarity lousy job. This product, like it's name, goes on thick and is unforgiving with tiny horses like micros. When I first started, this is what I used and my stablemates turned out blobby. However, it was pretty decent for my traditional models. It is slow drying and needs nearly the whole night to be safe to touch. I really recommend this for people first starting out - but know that it has very low reviews online, and does not compare to some of the better rated products listed here.


#2 Mister Super Clear

Made by Mr. Hobby, a Japanese product famous in the Gundam and doll customizing world. Its versatile, plays well with all surfaces, and even vinyl. The can size is generous compared to dullcote, but is about twice the cost in my area. The fumes are probably the worst you will find in this sealant list and wearing a mask is NOT optional. This sealant can also be reactive to cold weather and may need extra layering. However, this is an extremely durable sealant and found internationally. The UV cut version will not yellow over time, but the regular version doesn't seem to either. Also, if you want to repaint a dolls face, use this sealant.


#1 Testors Dullcote

Probably the most loved and universally used sealants by top artists in the hobby. Everyone I know uses it, loves it, doesn't have problems with it. I personally find it reliable and relatively easy to find at my local Michaels. This product comes in a variety of clarities: matte, gloss, satin, and even glitter. The cans are tiny, expensive, and this product does NOT work on vinyl; sorry My Little Pony customizers. Expect to go through about 2 cans each NaMoPaiMo depending on how many horses you are working on. I do about 1 can per 5 micros. Hobbyists have claimed that the recipe has changed and it is no longer as reliable as before. Also, I have noticed it is very hard to find dullcote in store recently (during pandemic).


Varnish

Like with primers, not all sealants come in cans. A water based varnish is handy to have around for anything; crafts, props, maybe a model horse. On the plus side they come in huge bottles, are non toxic, don't smell, aren't reactive, easy to clean up, and have great coverage. On the downside they are always glossy no matter how matte it says it is, not as durable, can leave light brush strokes, and you probably have to spray in matte sealant anyways to get any tooth if you want to build layers. A terrible idea if you are going to be using dusts- they will smear everything.


I hope someone got something out of this! Try out all of these sealants and see what you like the most. Remember, humidity and climate affect these products significantly so what I experience here may not be the same as where you are!


350 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page