top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAndrea

The Perfect Balance Between Health And Oil Paint


In university I was warned over and over and over again about painting safety. I ignored all these warnings (and I have mentioned it in this blog multiple times), to only come up with a hypersensitivity to strong smells. It's been an uphill battle ever since I graduated; painting for an hour and having a migraine for 2 days after. Even something as simple as walking through the cleaning isle of a store; I can smell the chemicals and my head hurts.


Precautions I have taken:

  • Industrial overhead fan in my studio

  • Wearing a respirator and gloves at all times while working

  • Keeping the window open

  • Using "non-toxic oil paints"

  • Not using any solvents

  • Keeping my contact with my paint at a minimum

  • Using aerosols outdoors

  • Taking breaks between painting sessions

  • Whining to others that my head hurts + loading up on pain killers

With NaMoPaiMo around the corner (and me already being signed up), for the first time I am dreading February 1st. How can I finish my horse when I am in continuous agony from the thing I enjoy? The obvious choice was to turn to our community for help.

I posed the question; how can I improve the safety of my workspace and lessen the headaches?

I must say... some of the replies were less than promising. Other's weren't quite relevant because I do not use solvents at all when I work with oils, my issues are directly with the paints.

  • ...Find another medium, you may be hypersensitive and there's nothing you can do about that.

  • There is no such thing as 'non toxic' paint TBH.

  • Do not use solvents with your oils

  • Use a respirator and gloves and just open the paints when you are using them.

However, there was something interesting that popped up in the Equine Artist Facebook groups. Carole suggests this:


It might be good to try some tests... work with paints of just one binder (as opposed to by brand) for a spell (linseed oil, walnut oil, safflower oil, etc). That might rule out a specific binder.

Are you using any mediums? And you are not using any kind of solvent? OMS? Turpeniod? Turpenoid Natural?

I paint in oils, I can't imagine not having SOME kind of solvent when oil painting.

Those being ruled out, are you sure it's not the pigments causing issues? That's also a possible culprit, it's not always the binder or solvent.


Smart Carole! It may be the SPECIFIC BINDER that is causing my issues! So I began an investigation of what I had in my oil painting box. What I found made my eyebrows raise.

All of the paints I have are using linseed oil as the binder!

The paints I have been using are Windsor & Newton and are on the "non toxic" list for oils. I actually have Gamblin Oils as well which use Safflower but they are brand new and never opened. So I will take Carole's advice and try my safflower paints to see if they make a difference.


Links regarding the chemistry of oil paints and how they work:


Doing more digging, I found some interesting links that may be helpful to those facing similar issues with health and safety regarding oil paints:


I really hope the few people who read this find this useful! I'm off to test the waters with Safflower oil paint to see if they make a difference! I really really hope I don't have to give up my favourite medium! Wish me luck!



151 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page